Shane Watson, New President of Australian Crickets' Association.

Shane Watson- New President of Australian Crickets’ Association.

November 12, 2019

Australian International Cricketer Shane Watson has been appointed as the president of the Australian Crickets’ Association. The appointment was made at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Monday night.

The Australian Player debuted in the year 2002 in ODI and was retired in 2016. He is known as the world’s No.1 T20I all-rounder. He contributed to the Australian team in 59 tests, 190 ODIs and 58 T20Is.

Watson is also a key Player of Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League and now he will be playing a prominent role in an extended 10-person board which also has three new appointments, namely, Pat Cummins and Kristen Beams and former player Lisa Sthalekar.

“Through a period of immense change, the players have been, and will continue to be, a strong voice in protecting what’s made our game of cricket great, while embracing opportunities that change inevitably brings,” Watson said to

Watson was praised for his commendable Cricket Australia Initiative regarding parental policy where players who are pregnant will get 12 months paid leave accompanied by three weeks paid leave upon the birth and adoption of a child and also along with travel support.

Watson says that the policy changes will ensure great moral support to Australian cricket woman and they will be proud to play a sport which supports their family also.

In the new arrangement, new roles of president and chairman have also been assigned whereas in the latter position Australia wicketkeeper Greg Dyer has been appointed. Many other prominent cricketers are also elected in the board of directors, namely, Aaron Finch, Alyssa Healy, and Moises Henriques.

Despite his retirement from Australian Cricket, Watson had kept his doors open for the other leagues outside his home country.